Jimmy Mowery – One to watch

Image

So, here is another musician who randomly followed me on Twitter and all I can say is, thank you.

Jimmy has it all, great voice, talented guitarist, very catchy songs. Oh and did I forget to mention he is hotttt!!

Now don’t get me wrong, I am not one of those people who thinks you have to be good looking to make great music. But in today’s fickle music industry it certainly helps, although I really wished it didn’t. We can thank people like Simon Cowell for perpetuating this idea. Thank God there are still plenty of people who appreciate the music and talent, rather than just looking at a pretty face.

I always  go to listen to new musicians with some trepidation, because you never know what you will hear. After all, I am in the UK, he is in South Carolina. I’ve never heard of him and that probably applies to the majority of people. All I have to say after listening to his songs is; Why the hell isn’t this guy signed and being heard all over the radio?

My favourite track is, This is war. It’s edgy and I love the guitar sound he creates, the lyrics are sung from the heart (Hmmm I wonder if he got burned by someone in the past?). Throughout the history of music, most of the classic songs come from either meeting or breaking up with someone, because that’s one thing that we all have in common and can identify with. Whether it’s first love or venting at the one who broke your heart. Musicians do it through their songs whereas writers (like myself) do it in stories.

His voice and style of songs reminds me a little of Justin Timberlake, which can’t be a bad thing. His bio says he identifies with bands like Maroon 5 and yes I can hear that too. He has a great vocal range and isn’t afraid to belt out those notes.

I’ve watched some of his live performances on YouTube, and he is impressive even with just an acoustic, sitting on a stool singing his heart out. The only thing that annoyed me was the noisy crowd, really people, show some appreciation. I am looking forward to seeing him play his own songs live, perhaps with a decent backing band, as most of the videos were of him performing covers. Although I have to say, his mash up of Boulevard of Broken Dreams/Wonderwall is awesome.

So come on you music industry people, sign this guy up now. I assure you, he will give all of the tacky boy bands a run for their money and perhaps we can get back to having real musicians in the charts.

http://www.reverbnation.com/jimmymowery/song/14882256-this-is-war

About emmieloukates

Single mum, Author and all round crazy lady. Still looking for my happy ending.
This entry was posted in Music, Musicians, New Music, Rising Stars and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

